Justitia auf Deutschlandkarte

Database of translators and interpreters

Certification requirements and legal remedies : Hamburg

Landeswappen von Hamburg

I.

Requirements for appointment and swearing-in:

Pursuant to § 1 Sect. 1 HmbDolmG, any person – upon request – may be appointed as interpreter and/or translator or sign language interpreter if said person

  1. possesses the necessary personal dependability,
  2. lives in orderly economics conditions,
  3. is sufficiently healthy,
  4. has not been generally sworn-in or publicly appointed as interpreter or translator in another German state, and
  5. has the necessary professional qualifications.

Professional Qualifications

A person shall have the professional qualifications as interpreter and translator if he/she is capable of speaking the German language and the working language in terms of annunciation, grammar, spelling, style and legal terminology, and is further capable of properly conveying in oral and written statements in either language the factual context of government agency and court proceedings in an unmistakable manner. Similar requirements shall apply to the professional qualifications of interpreters only, or translators only, or sign language interpreters.

Documentation of such professional qualification shall generally be provided through the successful participation in a qualification test procedure consisting of a written and an oral part (§ 2 Sect. 3 HmbDolmG).

II.

Admittance to Qualification Test Procedure

Any person may be admitted to the qualification test procedure whose main residence is located within the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg or the greater metropolitan area, and who – through certificates and diplomas of the universities and colleges attended, job references, or a report on interpretation services rendered - can document that he/she possesses the necessary knowledge of the German language and the working language for which the swearing-in is sought (§2 Sect.1 HmbDolmVO).

In those cases where no applicable university degree is available, several years of work as interpreter and/or translator are generally required for admittance to the procedure

III.

Swearing-In without Qualification Test Procedure:

  1. Acceptance of equivalent examinations from other German states or EU member states

    The Qualification Test Procedure may be waived entirely if

    1. the applicant has not yet been publicly sworn-in or authorized as interpreter and/or translator in another German state, and
    2. the applicant has already successfully passed examinations which are equivalent to the Hamburg Qualification Test Procedure. These may be state-certified interpreter and translator examinations in other German states and EU member states, and also certain degrees from universities of applied sciences.

    Which of the qualifications obtained in the Federal Republic of Germany are accepted as equivalent to the Hamburg Qualification Test Procedure is specified in its final and binding form in Attachment 2 to the HmbDolmVO.

  2. Temporary Services

    Interpreters and translators who are legally domiciled in another member state of the European Union or another contract state of the Agreement on the European Economic Zone to perform work specified in or similar to § 1 HmbDolmG shall be permitted to temporarily and occasionally exercise this activity within the territory of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg similar to a person registered pursuant to § 8 HmbDolmG (temporary services). Inasmuch as the necessary requirements have been satisfied, the cognizant government authority – by way of inclusion in the registry – performs a temporary registration. Additional information on the admittance requirements for providing temporary services within the territory of the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg may be obtained from § 8a HmbDolmG.

  3. Overview of Admittance Procedure:
    Qualification Test Procedure pursuant to § 5 HmbDolmVO Interpreter and Translator
    Interpreter (only)
    Translator (only)
    Abbreviated Qualification Test Procedure pursuant to § 8 HmbDolmVO Interpreter and Translator
    Interpreter (only)
    Translator (only)
    Acceptance Procedure pursuant to § 12 HmbDolmVO Interpreter and Translator
    Interpreter (only)
    Translator (only)
    Temporary Services pursuant to § 8a HmbDolmVO Interpreter and Translator
    Interpreter (only)
    Translator (only)

    Please specify in your application which of the above procedures you are applying for, and forward your application in writing to:

    Behörde für Inneres und Sport
    Amt für Innere Verwaltung und Planung
    - A 242 -
    Johanniswall 4, 20095 Hamburg

    Additional information and legal source material of interpreting within the Free and Hanseatic City of Hamburg can be found on our homepage:

    www.hamburg.de/dolmetscher Externer Link

IV.

Pursuant to §§ 68ff. VwGO, an appeal may be filed against the rejection of the public appointment and general swearing-in within one month following the delivery of the respective notification to the applicant, in writing or in person before the Government Agency for the Interior and Sports.

Your search produced the following results (For further details click on an entry):

The hits are presented in a random order. To change the sort order please choose here:
PersonId Last name First name Languages Postal code City Street address Phone

Justitia auf Deutschlandkarte

Dolmetscher- und Übersetzerdatenbank

Zulassungsvoraussetzungen und Rechtsbehelfe : Hamburg

Landeswappen von Hamburg

I.

Voraussetzungen für die Bestellung und Vereidigung:

Nach § 1 Abs. 1 HmbDolmG kann auf Antrag zum Dolmetscher und/oder Übersetzer oder zum Gebärdensprachdolmetscher bestellt werden, wer

  1. die erforderliche persönliche Zuverlässigkeit besitzt,
  2. in geordneten wirtschaftlichen Verhältnissen lebt,
  3. gesundheitlich geeignet ist,
  4. noch nicht in einem anderen Bundesland als Dolmetscher und Übersetzer allgemein vereidigt oder öffentlich bestellt oder ermächtigt worden ist und
  5. die fachliche Eignung besitzt.

Fachliche Eignung

Die fachliche Eignung zum Dolmetscher und Übersetzer besitzt, wer die deutsche Sprache und die Arbeitssprache in Aussprache, Grammatik, Rechtschreibung, Stil und juristischer Fachsprache beherrscht und in der Lage ist, mündliche und schriftliche Äußerungen in diesen Sprachen im Tätigkeitsbereich von Behörden und Gerichten sachlich richtig und unmissverständlich zu übertragen. Für die fachliche Eignung zum (nur) Dolmetscher oder (nur) Übersetzer oder zum Gebärdensprachdolmetscher gilt Entsprechendes.

Der Nachweis der fachlichen Eignung ist in der Regel durch die erfolgreiche Teilnahme an einem Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren zu erbringen, das aus einem schriftlichen und einem mündlichen Teil besteht (§ 2 Abs. 3 HmbDolmG).

II.

Zulassung zum Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren

Zur Teilnahme am Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren kann zugelassen werden, wer die Hauptwohnung im Gebiet der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg oder der Metropolregion hat und durch Zeugnisse und Diplome besuchter Universitäten oder anderer Hochschulen, Zeugnisse über die berufliche Tätigkeit oder einen Bericht über die Tätigkeit als Dolmetscher und/oder Übersetzer nachweist, dass er über die erforderlichen Kenntnisse der deutschen Sprache und der Arbeitssprache, für die er vereidigt werden will, verfügt (§2 Abs.1 HmbDolmVO).

In Fällen, in denen kein einschlägiger Hochschulabschluss vorliegt, ist in der Regel eine mehrjährige Tätigkeit als Dolmetscher und/oder Übersetzer für eine Zulassung zum Verfahren notwendig.

III.

Vereidigung ohne Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren:

  1. Anerkennung gleichwertiger Prüfungen aus anderen Bundesländern oder aus EU-Mitgliedstaaten

    Auf ein Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren kann vollständig verzichtet werden, wenn

    1. der Bewerber noch nicht in einem anderen Bundesland als Dolmetscher und Übersetzer allgemein vereidigt oder öffentlich bestellt oder ermächtigt worden ist und
    2. bereits Prüfungen absolviert hat, die als gleichwertig mit dem hamburgischen Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren anzusehen sind. Es kann sich dabei sowohl um staatliche Dolmetscher- und Übersetzerprüfungen aus anderen Bundesländern und EU-Mitgliedstaaten als auch um bestimmte Fachhochschulabschlüsse handeln.

    Welche in der Bundesrepublik erworbenen Qualifikationen als gleichwertig mit dem hamburgischen Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren anerkannt werden, ergibt sich abschließend aus Anlage 2 der HmbDolmVO.

  2. Vorübergehende Dienstleistungen

    Dolmetscher und Übersetzer, die in einem anderen Mitgliedstaat der Europäischen Union oder in einem anderen Vertragsstaat des Abkommens über den Europäischen Wirtschaftsraum zur Ausübung einer in § 1 HmbDolmG genannten oder vergleichbaren Tätigkeit rechtmäßig niedergelassen sind, dürfen diese Tätigkeit auf dem Gebiet der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg wie eine in das Verzeichnis nach § 8 HmbDolmG eingetragene Person vorübergehend und gelegentlich ausüben (vorübergehende Dienstleistungen). Sofern die notwendigen Voraussetzungen erfüllt sind, nimmt die zuständige Behörde mit der Aufnahme in das Verzeichnis eine vorübergehende Registrierung vor. Nähere Informationen zu den Zulassungsvoraussetzungen zur Ausübung der vorübergehenden Dienstleistungen auf dem Gebiet der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg entnehmen Sie bitte § 8a HmbDolmG.

  3. Übersicht über die Zulassungsverfahren:
    Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren nach § 5 HmbDolmVO Dolmetscher und Übersetzer
    (nur) Dolmetscher
    (nur) Übersetzer
    Verkürzte Eignungsfeststellungsverfahren nach § 8 HmbDolmVO Dolmetscher und Übersetzer
    (nur) Dolmetscher
    (nur) Übersetzer
    Anerkennungsverfahren nach § 12 HmbDolmVO Dolmetscher und Übersetzer
    (nur) Dolmetscher
    (nur) Übersetzer
    Vorübergehende Dienstleistungen nach § 8a HmbDolmG Dolmetscher und Übersetzer
    (nur) Dolmetscher
    (nur) Übersetzer

    Bitte geben Sie in Ihrem Antrag genau an, für welches der obigen Verfahren Sie sich bewerben und stellen Sie diesen schriftlich der

    Behörde für Inneres und Sport
    Amt für Innere Verwaltung und Planung
    - A 242 -
    Johanniswall 4, 20095 Hamburg

    Weitere Informationen und Rechtsquellen zum Dolmetscherwesen der Freien und Hansestadt Hamburg finden Sie auf der Homepage:

    www.hamburg.de/dolmetscher Externer Link

IV.

Gegen die Ablehnung der öffentlichen Bestellung und allgemeinen Vereidigung kann nach §§ 68ff. VwGO innerhalb eines Monats, nachdem die ablehnende Entscheidung der antragstellenden Person bekanntgegeben worden ist, schriftlich oder zur Niederschrift bei der Behörde für Inneres und Sport Widerspruch erhoben werden.

Ihre Suche führte zu folgenden Ergebnissen (Für weitergehende Angaben klicken Sie auf einen Eintrag!):

Die Reihenfolge der angezeigten Datensätze ist zufällig. Eine andere Sortierung hier auswählen:
PersonId Nachname Vorname Sprachen PLZ Ort Straße Telefon